We’ve completely revamped what Sharing and Privacy means in ClickUp. This latest release means you’re in complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who gets added to your team. 

There’s three main areas to understand in ClickUp: 

1) Roles

What are Guests? 

Guests are people that you don’t want having full access to ClickUp. Major differences are:

  1. Guests don’t have access to Spaces
  2. Guests can’t create Spaces, Projects, or Lists
  3. Guests can’t see everyone on the team 

Pricing:

Unlimited plans get 5 free Guests and 2 additional Guests every Member on the team. Additional Guests, will add a Member seat to your team - so for each Seat, you get one member plus one free Guest! 

Business plans have been introduced for those teams that work with lots of external users. This plan is more beneficial if you need to add lots of Guests to your team. You’ll get 10 free Guests and 5 additional Guests for every Member on the team. 

So, what are Members?

Members are people that you generally trust and don’t mind them being able to create things. Members: 

  1. Create Spaces, Projects, and Lists
  2. Get access to all public Spaces
  3. Can see everyone on the Team
  4. Can Share things with Guests and other Members (but can’t add new Members) 

And what about Admins?

Admins are people that can be trusted to manage your team. This includes:

  1. Adding new Members (and managing permissions)
  2. Importing, exporting, and managing integrations

2) Sharing 

Previously, only Spaces could be shared with people. Now, we’ve extended that to Projects, Lists, and even Tasks

By default, an item will be “public” - meaning it’s shared with the parent. For example: 

  • A public task, is shared with its parent List. 
  • A public List, is shared with its parent Project
  • And a public Project, is shared with its parent Space  

By making an item “private”, this means it isn’t shared with a parent anymore. 

With both “public” and “private” items, you can invite people. You can invite Guests (people not on your team) and Members (people on your team). Each time you invite people, you’ll get an option to set a permission level… 

3) Permissions

Note: Free Forever plans don’t have the ability to set permissions

Do you have sensitive information that you want locked down? Do you not completely trust that people you invite won’t mess something up? Or, maybe you just want some peace of mind when sharing. 

These are the perfect cases to use permissions

Permissions can be set for everyone - including both Guests and Members. You can set permissions for both Public and Private items. Here’s an overview of permissions: 

Make the world more productive

To recap, now you can share with anyone, customize privacy, set permissions, and add Guests to ClickUp. 

With these tools, we hope to enable you to be more productive, and eventually gain extra time in your life. 

Did this answer your question?