List view is a required task view provided for every Space, Folder, and List in ClickUp. It’s the most flexible view in terms of grouping, sorting, and filtering. 

Birds-eye view of all tasks 

Get a high-level overview of all tasks across your Workspace in a few simple steps:

  1. Hover over your left sidebar to expand it

  2. Click Everything 

Clicking Everything in the sidebar to view all of the tasks in your Workspace

Statuses

You can create custom workflows for all of your tasks at the Space, Folder and List levels.

To edit statuses for a Space, Folder, or List:

  1. Click on the ellipses ... next to the item in your left sidebar

  2. For Spaces, navigate to "Space settings"

  3. For Folders and Lists, proceed to the "statuses" menu

Sorting 

Sorting allows you to arrange your tasks by due date, priority and much more. It’s the perfect way to view the most important tasks at the top of your List view.

  1. Click on the +  icon above your list of tasks

  2. Select your desired columns to make them appear above your tasks

  3. Click on one or more column headers and you’ll have two sorting options:
    a) “Sort”: This option sorts tasks within the group that they’re in, preserving the same structure of the view
    b) “Sort entire column”: Using this option will sort all tasks in the view, by the entire column, removing any grouping that’s in place

Sort your tasks by enabling the columns of your choice, like:

Columns that have not yet been enabled for your List view will be shown under the “Hidden” menu here:

Clicking the + sign in the upper right corner of your screen to add a new custom field

As indicated in the picture above, you can also create a new custom field column. Once you've clicked on a new field  option, you can even rename it.

You can also rearrange your columns by dragging and dropping them!

Dragging and dropping custom fields to reorder them

Clicking on a column header will also let you rearrange it manually:

  • “Move to start” places the column furthest to the left

  • “Move to end” places the column furthest to the right

  • “Hide column” makes the column disappear from view

Note: If you aren't sorting your tasks, you can drag and drop them into any order! ClickUp remembers the order you have tasks in, for each grouping option covered in the next section.

Filtering

In addition to sorting, you can also filter tasks to cut out the clutter. Choose to see tasks filtered by assignee, status, and pretty much anything.

  1. Click on the funnel icon in the upper right corner of your screen

  2. Choose the +  icon to add a filter to your view

  3. You can also click the floppy disk to save a filtered view! These can be kept private to you, or they can be shared with the rest of your team

clicking on the funnel icon to filter your tasks

Grouping Tasks

Group your task sections by the following: 

  • Status

  • Assignee

  • Priority

  • Tag

  • Due date

  • Custom fields

  • None

View Settings

  • Click on Show  to show parent Folder & List names when sorting, or to show your subtasks’ parent names

  • You can filter for words in a task title by searching for them in the space indicated below

  • Show empty statuses to easily drag and drop tasks to any status

Me Mode

By default, you'll see tasks assigned to Everyone  in your Workspace.

To only see tasks that are assigned to you, go to 'Me' mode!

In Me Mode, you can also choose to include tasks where you assigned comments, subtasks or checklists.

Show Subtasks

Choose how you want to show subtasks by clicking on this icon in the upper right corner of your screen:

  • “Collapse all” will hide your subtasks from view, but you can always click on the subtask icon to expand them in place

  • “Expand all” will expand subtasks directly beneath their parent tasks

  • “As separate tasks” will display subtasks as separate items from their parents. Choose this option if you want subtasks to appear in your filtering results.

Convert tasks and subtasks via drag and drop

Drag and drop tasks and subtasks in List view to convert them into tasks, subtasks, and nested subtasks. A colorful line will indicate where the task will live.

Screenshot of dragging and dropping a task in List view, highlighting the line showing where a task will be moved to

Make Changes in Bulk

Use the Multitask Toolbar to quickly select groups of tasks and make changes. You can add assignees, tags, and even archive or delete tasks.

Create customized List views

Create a new List view any time by clicking the + icon

Clicking + View to create a new view

Customize your List view by clicking on its ellipses:

Clicking the ellipsis next to the List view name to customize its settings

Choose from the following View Options

  1. Rename it by clicking on the pencil icon

  2. Copy it as a new view (or even delete it by clicking on the trashcan icon)

  3. Make this the default view for everyone in your Workspace. With this enabled, you’ll automatically be shown this view every time you visit this location

  4. Pin the view to show it as a distinct tab, rather than putting it in the drop down menu for that type of view.

    Pro tip: Drag and drop pinned views to reorder them!

  5. Default to Me Mode for everyone. Each person who opens the view will see tasks in Me Mode

  6. Reset view to defaults. This will remove any changes to the original view

  7. Manage View Templates using the Template Center

  8. Move a view to a new location: Everything level, Space, Folder, or List

  9. Set as a personal view: By default, views are shared with everyone, but on our Paid plans, you'll be able make views personal so that only you are able to see them

  10. Protect the view from accidental changes. Only the people and teams you allow will be able to unprotect and save changes

  11. Autosave view: Save any time you make a change to the view including sorting and filtering

  12. Copy the URL for the view so you can share it with others

  13. Add the view as a Favorite

  14. Use Sharing & Permissions to manage who can do what with the view

List Info

This is the perfect place to store information about Lists. You’ll have options like assigning an Owner, setting a priority and due dates, adding attachments, and even having a conversation about the List. 

Clicking the i icon next to the List name to open the List info menu

Renaming Tasks

Simply hover over a task and click on the pencil icon to rename it!

clicking the pencil icon to rename a task

Reveal Pinned Images

If you've pinned a cover image to your task, you can reveal this in List view!

Calculate Columns

Learn how to calculate numeric columns in List view here!

Collapse Lists

If there's a List you continuously want to keep out of view, you can save it as collapsed!

Did this answer your question?