Create and edit time entries using the Time Tracking ClickApp.

You can enter time tracked from the Time Tracking modal which is available through the Quick Action menu, on tasks, in List view and Board view.

You can also create and edit time entries in our Mobile App, and via the ClickUp API.

What you'll need

  • A Workspace owner or admin will need to enable the Time Tracking ClickApp

  • Individual guests can use Time Tracking if a Workspace owner or admin has given them permission

  • Time Tracking is available on every ClickUp plan

  • The following features are only available on our Business Plan and above:

    • Adding a time entry description

    • Adding Labels to a time entry

    • Marking a time entry as billable

    • Tracking time that is not associated with a specific task

We'll cover

  1. Start a timer

  2. Add time tracked manually

  3. Add time tracked using a range

  4. Add time entry details

  5. Edit time entries

  6. Delete a time entry

Start a timer

Start a timer to track time while you work. A running timer is always visible in the lower right corner so you never forget to stop it.

The quickest way to start a timer is by clicking the Start button shown on tasks, List view, and Board view in the Time Tracked field.

Screenshot of the Time Tracked field on a task highlighting the start button

You can also start a timer from the Time Tracking modal by clicking on the Timer option and clicking the Start button.

Screenshot of the Time Tracking modal highlighting the timer option

Restart a timer from an existing time entry

You can start a timer from an existing time entry.

  1. Click on the Quick Action menu

  2. Select Track Time

  3. Click the Start button on a previous time entry

  4. The timer will start, creating a new time entry with the same details

Screenshot of the Time Tracking modal highlighting the option to start a timer from a previous time entry

Add time tracked manually

Forget to input your time tracked at an earlier date? Need to add a specific time entry with exact start and end times?

You can add time tracked manually instead of using a timer.

  1. Open up a task or the global timer

  2. Click the Time Tracked field to open the Time Tracking modal

  3. Select Manual

  4. Add your time

  5. Choose the date when the time entry occurred

  6. Add notes, labels, and billable time entry details

  7. Click Save to log the time

Screenshot of the Time Tracking modal highlighting the Manual option

Add time using a range

Entering time by range pre-fills the start and end time with the current time.

  1. Open up a task or the global timer

  2. Click the Time Tracked field to open the Time Tracking modal

  3. Select Range

  4. Set your start and end times

  5. Choose the date when the time entry occurred

  6. Add notes, labels, and billable time entry details

  7. Click Save to log the time

Screenshot of the Time Tracking modal highlighting the Range option

Add time entry details

Users on our Business Plan and above get additional features to make reporting more powerful.

  • Description: add a description to any time entry

  • Labels: add labels to time entries to be used across your Workspace for better filtering of similar tracked time

  • Billable: mark time as billable to keep track of time that is intended for invoices and time that's just used for internal reports

Screenshot of the Time Tracking modal highlighting the task detail fields

Edit time entries

You can your own edit time entries on a task. To edit other people's time entries, you'll need to be a Workspace owner or admin.

  1. Open up a task with a time entry or the global timer

  2. Click the Time Tracked field to open the Time Tracking modal

  3. Click on a user's name to expand their time entries

  4. Click on the pencil icon next to a time entry to make changes

  5. Add or update time entry details

  6. Update the time entry dates and times, or duration

  7. Click Save changes

Screenshot of a time entry on a task highlighting the edit options

Delete a time entry

  1. Open up a task with a time entry or the global timer

  2. Click the Time Tracked field to open the Time Tracking modal

  3. Click on a user's name to expand their time entries

  4. Click the red trash can icon to delete a time entry

  5. The time entry will be sent to the Trash

Note: Items in Trash are kept for 30 days before being permanently deleted.

Screenshot of a time entry on a task highlighting the delete button


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?