Limit the period of time people with access to your Workspace can stay logged in to ClickUp!

Session management settings apply to any ClickUp account that has access to your Workspace.

You can set one or both of the following options:

  • Session duration: Set the period of time people can stay logged in before they will be logged out

  • Idle timeout duration: When people are logged in, but not actively using ClickUp, you can set the period of time before they will be logged out

These options are set at the user account level, so they'll apply no matter which Workspace you're actively working in.

For both session and idle timeouts, we'll let you know five minutes before being logged out so you can log out right away, or continue working.

What you'll need

  • Session management is available on our Enterprise Plan

  • Only a Workspace owner or admin can access Security & Permissions settings to configure session management

  • Session and idle timeouts apply to any ClickUp account that has access to your Workspace

We'll cover

Access sessions management

Workspace owners or admins can access Security & Permissions settings by following these steps:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select Security & Permissions

    Screenshot of the Workspace settings menu highlighting the Security & Permissions option
  3. From the Session management section, you can set session duration and idle timeout duration

Screenshot of the Security settings page highlighting the session management section

Set up session duration

The default session duration is Never expires. Changing the session duration from Never expires will immediately sign everyone with access to your Workspace out of their ClickUp account. They will be required to sign back in to start a session with the new duration.

Updates to the session duration to or from any other options will take effect with each person's next session.

You can choose from the following session duration options:

  • Never expires

  • 1 hour

  • 4 hours

  • 8 hours

  • 12 hours

  • 24 hours

  • 7 days

  • 14 days

  • 30 days

To set a session duration:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select Security & Permissions

  3. Choose a session duration from the dropdown menu

  4. If you are switching session duration from Never expires, all active users in the workspace will be logged out. Confirm your choice on the modal by clicking Continue & Log out.

  5. You and any users with access to your Workspace will be signed out of ClickUp immediately

  6. When you're at the end of a session, you can log out right away and log back in to continue working

Screenshot of the session duration menu

Set up idle timeout duration

Set an idle timeout duration to log people out after a certain period of time. The idle timeout duration only applies to people who are logged in, but not actively using ClickUp.

You'll be active as long as you are moving your mouse, clicking or scrolling with your mouse or touchpad, or pressing keys on your keyboard in at least one ClickUp tab in your web browser.

You can choose from the following idle timeout duration options:

  • Never expires

  • 15 minutes

  • 30 minutes

  • 45 minutes

  • 1 hour

  • 1.5 hours

  • 2 hours

  • 4 hours

To set an idle timeout duration:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select Security & Permissions

  3. Choose an idle timeout duration from the dropdown menu

  4. The idle timeout duration will take effect immediately

  5. Five minutes before the idle timer is up, you will have the option to continue working, which resets the idle timeout duration timer

Screenshot of the idle timeout duration menu


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?