Do you have sensitive information that you want locked down? Set permissions for important things in ClickUp.


What are permissions?

Permission settings let you decide what people can (and can't) do inside of ClickUp.

Permissions may be set for anyone - including both Guests and Members. They can be set for Folders, Lists, tasks, views, Docs, Dashboards, and Goals.

Spaces, however, do not have permission settings.

Available permissions

Permissions available will vary depending on the item, location, view, and user role.

  1. Tasks

    1. Members

    2. Guests

  2. Folders

    1. Members

    2. Guests

  3. Lists

    1. Members

    2. Guests

  4. Protect and unprotect views

  5. Chat view

  6. Embed view

  7. Form view

  8. Doc view

  9. Dashboards

    1. Members

    2. Guests

  10. Docs

  11. Goals and Goal Folders

Tasks

What you can and can't do with tasks varies by user role. Subtasks inherit their parent task's permissions.

Members

Full

Can edit and delete a task.

Edit

Can edit this task and task settings, but can't create subtasks or delete this task.

Comment

Can comment. Assignees can change task status and set assignee(s).

Users can copy task link and ID, print, attach emails, add to Favorites and LineUp, mark as Milestone, and edit guest permissions.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit tasks.

Users can copy task link and ID, print, add to Favorites and LineUp, and mark as Milestone.

Guests

Full

Can edit and delete this task.

Guests with Full access can:

  • Duplicate, move, and merge tasks

  • Convert tasks to List or subtasks

  • Add to Favorites

  • Use templates

  • Set dependencies

  • Archive and delete tasks

Guests with Full access can't:

  • Mark tasks as a Milestone

  • Add tasks to LineUp

  • Manage Custom Fields for this task's List

Edit

Can edit, but can't delete this task.

Users can move, merge, convert to List, add to Favorites, use templates, set dependencies, archive, and delete this task. They can't create subtasks.

Comment

Can comment. Assignees can change task status and set assignee(s).

Users can copy link and task ID, print, attach emails, and add to Favorites.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit tasks.

Users can copy link and task ID, print, and add to Favorites.

Folders

What you can and can't do with a Folder varies by user role.

Members

Full

Can create tasks in this Folder. Can edit Folder settings and delete the Folder.

Edit

Can edit tasks in this Folder and Folder settings. Can't create tasks or delete the Folder.

Comment

Can comment. Assignees can change task status and set assignee(s) on tasks in this Folder. Can't edit Folder settings.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit on tasks in this Folder. Can't edit Folder settings.

Guests

Full

Can create tasks in this Folder.

Guests with Full access can copy Folder link and add to Favorites, but can't edit Folder settings.

Edit

Can edit, but can't create tasks in this Folder.

Guests with Edit access can copy Folder link and add to Favorites. They can't edit Folder settings.

Comment

Can comment. If assigned, can change status & assignee(s) on tasks in this Folder.

Guetsts can copy link and add to Favorites. They can't edit Folder settings.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit on tasks in this Folder.

Users can copy link and add to Favorites. They can't edit Folder settings.

Lists

What you can and can't do with a List varies by user role.

Members

Full

Can create tasks in this List, edit List settings, and delete the List.

Edit

Can edit tasks in this List and List settings. They can't create tasks or delete the List.

Comment

Can comment. Assignees can change task status and set assignee(s) on tasks in this List.

Members can view List Info, copy link, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit on tasks in this List.

Members can view List Info, copy link, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

Guests

Full

Can create tasks in this List.

Guests with Full access can copy link, edit List Info, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

Edit

Can edit tasks in this List.

Users can copy link, edit List Info, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

Comment

Can comment.


Assignees can change task status and set assignee(s) on tasks in this List. Users can copy link, view List Info, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

View only

Read-only. Can't comment or edit on tasks in this List.

Guests can copy link, view List Info, and add to Favorites. They can't edit List settings.

Protect and unprotect views

Can protect and unprotect view

Can protect this view and unprotect it to save changes.

Can't unprotect view

Can't save changes to this view.

Chat View

You can set unique permissions that just apply to a Chat view.

Can manage chat

Full access. Can edit settings and delete this view.

Can't manage or delete chat

Can view, add comments, copy, and add to Favorites. Can't edit settings or delete this Chat view.

Embed view

You can set unique permissions that just apply to an Embed view.

Can manage Embed view

Full access. Can edit view settings and delete this view.

Can't manage Embed view

Can view, copy, and add to Favorites. Can't edit settings or delete this view.

Form view

You can set unique permissions that just apply to a Form view.

Can edit and manage form

Full access. Users can edit Form fields, Form and view settings, and delete this view

Can't edit or manage form

Can view, submit, copy, and add to Favorites.

Users can't edit Form fields, Form or view settings, or delete this view.

Doc view

You can set permissions to a Doc that is shared as a Doc view. Permissions set on a Doc view also apply to the Doc itself.

Edit

Full access. Users can edit Doc, Doc and view settings, and delete this view.

Comment

Can view, add, edit, and delete own comments.

Users can copy the view and add to Favorites. Can't edit Doc, Doc or view settings, or delete this view.

View only

Read-only. Users can't edit doc, add comments, edit Doc or view settings, or delete the view.

Dashboards

What you can and can't do with Dashboards varies by user role.

Members

Full

Full access. Can add, edit, delete widgets.

Users can edit settings and delete this Dashboard.

Edit

Can add, edit, and remove widgets.

Users can't edit Dashboard settings or delete the Dashboard.

View only

Read-only. Can comment, edit and delete own comments in Chat widgets.

Can't add, edit, or delete widgets. Can't edit or delete this Dashboard.

Guests

View only

Read-only. Can comment, edit and delete own comments in Chat widgets.

Docs

Permissions set on Docs also apply when Docs are shared as a view or in the Sidebar.

Edit

Can edit Doc, Doc settings, and delete the Doc.

Comment

Can view the Doc, add, edit, and delete own comments.

View only

Read-only. Users can't edit doc, add comments, edit Doc settings, or delete the view.

Goals and Goal Folders

You can set unique permissions that just apply to Goals and Goal Folders.

Edit

Can create, edit, move, and delete goals.

View only

Read-only. Can't create, edit, move, or delete goals.


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?