Done with a Doc, but not ready to delete it? Archive it instead!

While archived Docs will be hidden automatically, they are still saved so you can find them at a later date.

When unarchiving a Doc it will be restored to the locations where the Doc was previously shared!

What you'll need

  • Archiving Docs is available on every ClickUp Plan

  • Anyone, including guests, with edit permissions can archive and unarchive Docs

Archive a Doc

You can archive Docs from the Sidebar or Docs Home.

Docs in the Sidebar

Archive Docs that have been added to the Sidebar.

  1. From a Doc in the Sidebar

  2. Access the Doc settings menu

    • Either open the settings sidebar and click on the Doc settings icon

    • or click on the Doc settings icon from the quick access sidebar

  3. Click Archive

  4. The Doc will be archived and hidden!

Screenshot of the Doc settings menu highlighting the Archive option

Doc Views

  1. From a Doc view

  2. Access the Doc settings menu

    • Either open the settings sidebar and click on the Doc settings icon

    • or click on the Doc settings icon from the quick access sidebar

  3. Click Archive

  4. The Doc will be archived and hidden!

From Docs Home

Archive Docs in Docs Home.

  1. From Docs Home click the ellipsis next to a Doc

  2. Click Archive

  3. The Doc will be archived and hidden!

Screenshot of the Doc settings menu in Docs Home highlighting the Archive option

View Archived Docs

Find and review archived Docs.

Show archived items in the Sidebar

Show archived items in the Sidebar to review them.

  1. Hover and click the cog icon at the top of the Sidebar to open the Sidebar settings menu

  2. Click Show archived

  3. Archived Spaces, Folders, Lists, and Docs added to the Sidebar will be displayed with the archived icon and italicized names

  4. Docs Home will now include an Archived view

Screenshot of the Sidebar settings menu highlighting the Show archived button

Unarchive a Doc

You can unarchive Docs from the Sidebar or Docs Home.

Archived Doc views and Docs attached to tasks are only available in Docs Home.

When unarchiving a Doc it will be restored to the locations where the Doc was previously shared, including:

  • A task as an attachment

  • A location in the Sidebar

  • A location as a Doc view

Docs in the Sidebar

Unarchive Docs that were added to the Sidebar.

  1. Find and open a Doc from the Sidebar

  2. Click the unarchive button in quick actions at the top right of a Doc

  3. The Doc will no longer be archived!

Screenshot of a Doc highlighting the unarchive button

Pro tip: You can also unarchive a Doc from the Doc settings menu!

From Docs Home

Unarchive Docs from Docs Home. The unarchive button will appear on archived Docs in both the grid and list layouts.

  1. Open Docs Home

  2. Select the Archived view

  3. Click the unarchive button

  4. The Doc will no longer be archived!

Screenshot of a Doc in Docs Home highlighting the unarchive button

Pro tip: You can also unarchive a Doc from the Doc settings menu!


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?