Associate your customer feedback in Canny with tasks in ClickUp, and keep your customers updated with status changes to communicate priorities!

Linking and unlinking Canny posts will appear as comments on ClickUp tasks!

What you'll need:

  • A Canny account admin on a Growth or Business Plan

  • A ClickUp Workspace on any ClickUp Plan

Pro tip: Workspaces on our Paid Plans can use a ClickUp guest account with edit permissions to the List(s) where you want to create and link tasks with Canny posts.

Set up the integration

  1. Go to your settings in Canny

  2. Under Integrations in the left sidebar, select ClickUp

  3. Click on Install ClickUp

You'll be prompted to sign into ClickUp and select the Workspace(s) to connect with Canny.

Create ClickUp tasks from a Canny post

  1. Browse to a Canny post

  2. Click on Create new task

  3. Select the Workspace, Space, Folder, and List where you want to create the task

  4. Add a task name and description

  5. Click Create & Link task

Pro tip: Click on the task name on a Canny post to open the task in ClickUp!

Link Canny posts to existing ClickUp tasks

  1. Browse to a Canny post

  2. From ClickUp find the task you want to link

  3. Copy the task ID

  4. From Canny select Link existing task

  5. Paste the task ID into the ClickUp task ID field

  6. Click on the task that appears or press Enter

  7. The Canny post and ClickUp task are now linked

Unlink ClickUp tasks from Canny posts

  1. Browse to a Canny post

  2. Under the ClickUp section, find the task you wish to unlink

  3. Click the X icon

  4. The Canny post and ClickUp task are no longer linked

Update Canny post statuses automatically

Create a rule to automatically update your Canny post statuses based on ClickUp task activity!

  1. Go to your settings in Canny

  2. Under Integrations in the left sidebar, select ClickUp

  3. Click Create new rule

  4. Set up your rule according to your preferences using the drop down menus

  5. Click Create

Options include:

Any linked tasks

If a Canny post is linked to multiple ClickUp tasks, this rule will update the Canny post status when any of the ClickUp tasks is updated.

All linked tasks

Your Canny post will only be updated once every linked ClickUp task is updated.

Notify users

The Canny post status will be updated with a message added to the post.

Do not notify users

The Canny post status will be updated, but no message will be added to the post.

Troubleshooting

Not seeing the right ClickUp Spaces, Folders, Lists, or tasks to link with Canny posts?

Simply uninstall and reinstall the integration:

  1. From your web browser, log out of ClickUp completely

  2. Go to your settings in Canny

  3. Under Integrations in the left sidebar, select ClickUp

  4. Click on the Uninstall link

  5. Click on Install ClickUp

  6. You'll be prompted to sign in and authenticate Canny

FAQ

What happens to linked tasks and posts when I uninstall the integration?

As long as the ClickUp task and Canny post still exist, they won't be impacted.

What if I move tasks in ClickUp?

Canny posts will remain linked, regardless of where your tasks are located in ClickUp. The link on the Canny post will still open the correct task in ClickUp.


What if I move a Canny post to a different board?

ClickUp tasks will remained linked to Canny posts, regardless of which board they are located on.

Links in ClickUp task comments will still open the post in Canny.


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?