Take control of the views your team relies on to see the work they need to do! Share views with the world to give your contacts and clients direct insights about your projects.

This guide has step-by-step instructions to set privacy, permissions, and sharing options for views in ClickUp.

Unlike tasks and other items in ClickUp you cannot share task views with individual people and Teams, or set their permissions. Sharing & permissions are set on the List or Folder itself.

You can set permissions by sharing the List or Folder right from the Sharing & Permissions options on the view settings menu.

Page views including Doc, Chat, Embed, and Form views are different and have unique sharing options. Read on to find out more.

Animation showing the options available on the views sharing modal

Task Views

Skip ahead to Page views

You can share List, Board, Calendar, Timeline, Gantt, Mind Map, Table, or Map views on any Space, Folder, or List.

Note: Workspaces on our Business Plan and above can also publicly share those views at the Everything level

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share a view with your team!

Protect a view

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Click on the Protect view toggle

  3. Optional: add a message for people who are unprotecting the view

  4. Search for Workspace members

  5. Use the Edit All button to bulk edit all Workspace members OR

  6. Use the permissions button for each individual Workspace member

  7. Click Protect Layout which immediately protects the view from changes

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the option to protect a view

Learn more about using protected views!

Make it Personal!

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Click on the Personal view toggle OR click on Make Private

Note: After the item is set to private, you may also change it back to public by clicking Make Public

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the option to convert the view into a personal view

Share task views publicly via web

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Click on the Public via web toggle

  3. Copy the public link to share your view with the world!

Options:

  • Allow search engines to include the link in search results

  • Copy the embed code

  • Allow viewers to open tasks

  • Set the share task properties from the advanced settings section

Enterprise Plan only options:

  • Set link expiration

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the toggle to share publicly via web and the advanced settings available

Share task properties allows you to control what is included on the public view of the task, including:

Screenshot of the available options to show or hide information on tasks when included in a publicly shared view

Note: You can share a private view, but private tasks will not appear in any publicly shared view.

Page Views

Skip back to task views

Doc view

Doc views have the same privacy and sharing options available as Docs!

Chat view

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share a view with your team!

Make it Personal!

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Edit Permissions

  2. Click on the Personal view toggle OR click on Make Private

Note: After the item is set to private, you may also change it back to public by clicking Make Public

Set Permissions to Chat view

You can set specific permissions for Workspace members on a Chat view.

Permissions available include:

  • Can't delete chat

  • Can delete chat

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Edit Permissions

  2. Use the search feature to find individual Workspace members

  3. Click on the permissions button on the right

  4. Choose the appropriate option for each member

The permissions you select are applied instantly!

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share with a specific member or guest and customize their permissions to the Chat view

Embed view

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share a view with your team!

Make it Personal!

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Edit Permissions

  2. Click on the Personal view toggle OR click on Make Private

Note: After the item is set to private, you may also change it back to public by clicking Make Public

Form view

Form views that are active are also automatically shared publicly via web. Sharing a Form view publicly via web from the Sharing settings also makes it active.

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share a view with your team!

Set permissions to Form view

You can set specific permissions for Workspace members to a Form view.

Permissions available include:

  • Can edit form

  • Can't edit form

Here's how to set permissions to a Form view:

  1. Click on the view settings ellipsis and select Edit Permissions OR click on the Sharing & Permissions button

  2. Use the search feature to find individual Workspace members

  3. Click on the permissions button on the right

  4. Choose the appropriate option for each member

The permissions you select are applied instantly!

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share with a specific member or guest and customize their permissions to the Form view


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?