Custom permissions are exclusive to the Enterprise Plan. To learn about our different plans, click here.

Tailor the roles in ClickUp to fit your organization's policies. Custom permissions allow you to change the default settings for Guests, Members, and Admins.

Note:

  • Admin permissions can only be edited by the Workspace Owner
  • Some permissions are required to be either on or off and cannot be edited

How to Access

  1. Visit your Workspace setting
  2. Select Security & Permissions  
  3. Locate Advanced Permissions
  4. Customize your user permissions!

Custom Permission Actions

Invite Guest
Gives the user the permission to invite guests.

Add/remove Members
Gives the user the permission to add or remove members to the Workspace.

Create Spaces
Gives the user the permission to create Spaces in the team Workspace.

Workspace Integrations
Gives the user the permission to set up any third party Workspace integrations. 

Importing
Gives the user permission to import tasks via the Workspace import settings.

Exporting
Gives the user permission to export via the Workspace export setting.

Manage Tags
Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete tags. If you have Manage Tags toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete tags.

Pinned Custom Fields

Gives the user the ability to pin custom fields in tasks.

Manage Custom Fields
Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete Custom Fields. If you have Manage Custom Fields toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete Custom Fields.

Create Views
Gives the user the permission to create and edit views on locations. When toggled off, a user can still create personal views.

Edit Statuses
Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete statuses. If you have Edit Statuses toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete statuses. 

Delete Items
Gives the user the permission to delete items. Optionally, you can have it so they can only delete the tasks they create.

What is covered:

  • Tasks
  • Tags
  • Task templates
  • Lists
  • Folders
  • Spaces
  • Docs
  • Checklists
  • Checklist templates
  • Checklist items
  • Attachments
  • Views
  • View templates
  • Folder templates
  • List templates
  • Custom fields

Workspace Permissions
Gives the user the permission to change Workspace level permissions like (2FA, Public Sharing, SSO).

Git Permissions

Gives the user permission to access git features in tasks.

Did this answer your question?