Need to restrict certain features? Use granular permissions to customize who can do what in your Workspace.

What you'll need

  • Private Attachments are available on all ClickUp Plans

  • Our Business Plus Plan includes Custom Permissions and 1 Custom Role

  • Our Enterprise Plan includes Custom Permissions and unlimited Custom Roles

  • Allowing admins to manage private Spaces, and blocking public sharing are exclusive to our Enterprise Plan

  • Only a Workspace owner or admins have access to configure advanced permissions

We'll cover

Manage advanced permissions

Only a Workspace owner and admins have access to set advanced permissions.

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select Security & Permissions

  3. Scroll down the Advanced permissions section

Custom Roles

Create new roles based on the standard guest, member, or admin roles. Workspace owners have the ability to designate who can create and edit Custom Roles.

creating new custom roles

Note: Workspaces on our Business Plus Plan can add 1 Custom Role. Workspaces on our Enterprise Plan can add unlimited Custom Roles, and use Okta for Custom Role provisioning.

Custom Permissions

Allow and limit what people in your Workspace can do at the role level. Set granular permissions and security settings for guests, members, admins, and Custom Roles.

Simply enable each option (row) for each User Role (column) in the table.

Here is a complete list of the Custom Permissions available:

Action

Description

Add/Remove Members

Gives the user the permission to add or remove members to the Workspace.

Git

Allows the user to see and open the Github/Bitbucket/Gitlab modal on tasks and use all the features within it.

Edit Statuses

Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete statuses. If you have Edit Statuses toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete statuses.

Manage Custom Fields

Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete Custom Fields. If you have Manage Custom Fields toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete Custom Fields.

Manage Tags

Gives the user the permission to create, edit, and delete tags. If you have Manage Tags toggled on, but Delete Items off, you will not be able to delete tags.

Custom Roles

Gives the user the ability to create, edit, delete and manage all custom roles. Users with this permission by default have access to all permissions. Only custom admins can be granted this permission.

Create Spaces

Gives the user the permission to create Spaces in the team Workspace.

Create Views

Gives the user the permission to create and edit views on locations. When toggled off, full Members can still create personal views.

Delete Items

Gives the user the permission to delete items. Optionally, you can have it so they can only delete tasks they create.

Exporting

Gives the user permission to export via the Workspace export setting.

Importing

Gives the user permission to import tasks via the Workspace import settings.

Invite Guests

Gives the user the permission to invite guests

Workspace Integrations

Gives the user the permission to setup any third party Workspace integrations.

Workspace Permissions

Gives the user the permission to change Workspace level permissions like (2FA, Public Sharing, SSO).

Pinned Custom Fields

Gives the user the ability to pin a Custom Field. Pinned Custom Fields are pinned across the Workspace wherever that field is being used.

Allow admins to manage private Spaces

Workspace owners on the Enterprise Plan have the option to allow admins to add/remove people from Spaces. This makes managing Spaces easier than ever, especially for Enterprise Plans with tons of Spaces and hundreds or thousands of people.

Users have the option to prevent management of Spaces they currently own, if they choose, to ensure privacy and security are still preserved when needed.

clicking the toggle on to enable admins to manage private Spaces

Private Attachments

We make it easier than ever to provide your attachments with an extra layer of security with just one click! By enabling this feature, all attachment links will automatically expire an hour after the link has been generated.

New links to an attachment will be generated each time that a task has been opened or exported to ensure that no unwanted links remain accessible after your work is complete.

Only a Workspace owner and admins have access to set advanced permissions.

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select Security & Permissions

  3. Enable Private attachments

Note: Setting attachments as private only applies to new attachments added after the feature has been turned on.

Block public sharing

Keep your privacy in check by ensuring nothing is being shared without your knowledge.

Admins have the ability to see all publicly shared areas in the Workspace and can easily turn them off if needed.

block public sharing

You're also able to set a publicly shared link to expire after 1 year. This makes it easy to turn Public Sharing off without having to set a reminder.

Note: Blocking public sharing does not prevent sharing of attachment URLs.


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?