ClickUp's Sharing and Privacy settings mean that you’re in complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who has the ability to add new members to a Workspace.
There’s three main areas to understand in ClickUp:
PDF can be found here.
What are guests?
Guests are users that you don’t want having full access to ClickUp. Major differences are:
Guests don’t have access to Spaces
Guests can’t create Spaces, Folders, or Lists
Guests can’t see everyone on the Workspace
For full details on guest seats, click here.
All paid plans include unlimited view-only guest seats for free!
Example: I have three paid members in my Unlimited Plan Workspace. I have 9 guest seats to use with permissions, and unlimited "can view" guest seats!.
The Business Plan is great for if your workflows require coordination with lots of external collaborators! With a 1 member Workspace on the Business Plan, you will have access 10 guest seats to use with permissions. Each additional member seat opens up +5 guests seats to use with permissions.
Example: I have four members in my Business Plan Workspace. I have 25 guest seats to use with permissions, and unlimited "can view" guest seats.
So, what are Members?
Members are people that you generally trust and don’t mind them being able to create things. Members:
Create Spaces, Folders, and Lists
Get access to all public Spaces
Can see everyone on the Workspace
Can share things with guests and other members (but can’t add new members)
And what about Admins?
Admins are people that can be trusted to manage your Workspace. This includes:
By default, an item will be “public” - meaning it’s shared on the same lines as its parent item. For example:
A public task, is available to anyone with access to its parent List.
A public List, is shared with anyone who has access to its parent Folder
And a public Folder, is shared with everyone who has access to its parent Space
Making an item “private”, means it has a virtual privacy wall around it, and for someone to access the item, it must be shared with them.
By default, members see all public items, and can be invited to private items.
Guests will only see items that are shared with them.
Each time you invite someone to share a private item, you’ll get an option to set a permission level.
Do you have sensitive information that you want locked down? Do you not completely trust that people you invite won’t mess something up? Or, maybe you just want some peace of mind when sharing!
These are the perfect cases to use permissions.
PDF can be found here.
Make the world more productive
With these tools, we hope to enable you to be more productive, and eventually gain extra time in your life!
Want to learn more?