Invite people from outside your organization to join your Workspace as guests.

People in a guest role will only be able to access the items that have been shared with them. You can also allow individual guests to use certain features.

For example, you hire a contractor who is helping you complete a project. You can give them access to track time so they can record their hours worked on specific tasks.

A client wants to follow the tasks in their project. You've included the budget, cost, and profit margin in Custom Fields. You can hide all Custom Fields from the client, or just the fields you don't want them to see.

What you'll need

  • Guests are available on all ClickUp Plans

  • Workspace owners and admins can manage guests

  • Members can invite guests when sharing items

We'll cover

View guests

Guests are easily identified by the orange squares on their avatar:

Screenshot of a guest user

Workspace owners and admins can also view guests from the Guests tab of the People settings page:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select People

  3. Click the Guests tab to view every guest in your Workspace

Guests can:

  • Be invited to tasks, Lists, or Folders

  • Be invited to individual Docs, Goals, and Dashboards

  • Can use Docs attached to tasks with the same permissions as they have to the task

  • Can use Doc views on Lists or Folders

  • Access Trash to view and restore items they deleted

  • On any paid plan, a full range of permissions settings is available for guests

  • See the task IDs of related or dependent tasks except where they have explicit permission to the related tasks

  • Use ClickApp features (such as Sprint Points) as long as they have can edit or full permissions to the task, List, or Folder, and the relevant fields are not hidden (such as Time Estimates)

Guests can't:

Individual guest permissions

Workspace owners and admins can set these individual guest permissions:

To set individual guest permissions:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select People

  3. Click the Guests tab

  4. Click the icons representing features to enable and disable them for each guest

Screenshot of the guests tab of the people settings page highlighting the individual guest permissions available

Invite a guest

Workspace owners, admins, and members can invite guests. You can only invite guests when sharing a specific item with them.

When members invite guests, they can't give guests any higher permissions to the shared item.

For example, a member with Comment permissions to a task invites a guest to collaborate on the task. The member can only grant the guest Comment or View-only permissions on that task.

To invite a guest while sharing items:

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis ... of the task, List, Folder, Doc, Dashboard, or Goal that you want to share with the guest

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Type the email address of the person you'd like to invite as a guest

  4. Choose their permission settings on the right

  5. Click Invite

  6. The person will receive an email shortly inviting them to join your Workspace!

Screenshot of the modal to invite a guest highlighting their role and permissions

Next steps

Manage guests

Learn more about managing guests in your Workspace.

Billing for guest seats

Understand how billing works for guests.


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?