This doc explains features in ClickUp 2.0. Looking for a 1.0 doc? Check out this link!

Let's put you in complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who gets added to your Workspace.

Important details

  • By default, Folders, Lists, and tasks will be “public” - meaning they're shared with anyone that has access to where they live.
  • All "public" items inherit privacy from their parent. 
  • Spaces can't be shared with guests

PDF version available here.

How to make a Folder, List, or Task private

  1. Open the Action Menu ... 
  2. Click the share icon
  3. Click Make private - Optional: Share with members in your Workspace or invite guests! Information on what distinguishes a member from a guest can be found here.

How to invite members or guests to your private item

  1. Type the name of a member or the email address of a guest in the sharing modal
  2. Set the member or guest's permissions to your item

How to make a Folder, List, or Task public 

  1. Open the action menu ... on a Folder, List, or task
  2. Click Make public  

How to view who has access

  1. Open the Action Menu ... on a public or private item
  2. Click the share button to open this window

Frequently asked questions

  • Members in your Workspace can make anything they have access to private (or public).
  • Admins can hide things such as Time Estimates, Time Tracked, or Custom Fields so Guests can't see them.
  • Members with Can create and edit (full access) to your Folder will be able to edit Folder settings such as Custom Fields or Statuses.
  • Guests in Free Forever Workspaces will only be granted Create and edit  permissions.
  • Looking for Space level privacy? Read more here.
  • For more details, check out our FAQ doc here.
Did this answer your question?