Take complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who gets added to your Workspace.

This guide has step by step instructions to set privacy, permissions, and sharing options for Spaces, Folders, Lists, and tasks.


We'll cover:

How to view who has access to an item

  1. Click on the setting ellipsis on the Folder, List, or task

  2. Select Sharing & Permissions

  3. Expand the location where the item is shared OR the People section

  4. Review current permissions including people, guests and Teams

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to see who has permissions

The Workspace Owner and item creator will have their own badges:

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the task creator and Workspace owner badges which are displayed next to the person's name

Note: We'll warn you before you remove access from an item's creator.

How to make a Space Private

You can change a Space's privacy by following these steps:

  1. Click on the ellipsis next your Space in the sidebar

  2. Navigate to Sharing & Permissions

  3. Select Private

  4. Click Save

Screenshot of the option to make a Space private and share it with specific people

Share a private Space with specific people

If you set up a private Space, you can share the Space with existing Workspace members, or invite other people to join your Workspace.

Note: Guests do not have access to Spaces. Learn more about the guest experience.

  1. Click on the ellipsis next your Space in the sidebar

  2. Navigate to Sharing & Permissions

  3. Click Add People

  4. Search, and select people to add them to your Space

  5. Click Save

Animation showing how to make a Space private and share it with specific people

Set permissions for public Folders, Lists, and tasks

You can set permissions without making Folders, Lists, or tasks private and explicitly sharing those items with each person or Team.

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis ...

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Type the name of the person or Team whose permissions you want to edit

  4. Click on the permissions button on the right

  5. Choose their new permissions, which take effect immediately

Or

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis ...

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Expand the location where the item's permissions are inherited from

  4. Click Edit all to bulk update permissions

  5. Choose new permissions, which take effect immediately

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share a Folder with a specific member or guest and customize their permissions

Make a Folder or List private

By default, private Folders and Lists will only be accessible to you!

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis in the Sidebar OR click on the List or Folder name from a view

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Click Make private to make the item private effectively immediately

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the option to make a Folder private

Note: After the item is set to private, you may also change it back to public by clicking Make public

Share a Folder or List with others

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis in the Sidebar OR click on the List or Folder name from a view

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Type the name of the person or Team you want to share the private item with

  4. Click on the permissions button to set their permissions

  5. Click on the Share toggle, which immediately shares the item

  6. Click Save

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share a Folder with a specific member, guest, or Team and customize their permissions

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share it with your team!

Invite new people

  1. Click the settings menu ellipsis in the Sidebar OR click on the List or Folder name from a view

  2. Click on Sharing & Permissions

  3. Invite people by entering one or more complete email addresses

  4. Choose to invite them as a Guest or Member using the user role button on the left

  5. Set their permissions using the permissions button on the right

  6. Click Invite

The user will receive an email shortly inviting them to join your Workspace!

Screenshot showing how to invite a new guest by entering their email address

Make a task private

  1. Open a task and click on the Share button OR on the task settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Click Make private to make the item private effectively immediately

Note: After the item is set to private, you may also change it back to public by clicking Make public

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the option to make a task private

Share a task with others

  1. Open a task and click on the Share button OR on the task settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Type the name of the person or Team you want to share the private item with

  3. Click on the permissions button to set their permissions

  4. Click on the Share toggle, which immediately shares the item

  5. Click Save

Pro tip: Copy the Internal link to share it with your team!

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share with a specific member or guest and customize their permissions

Invite new people

  1. Open a task and click on the Share button OR on the task settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Invite people by entering one or more complete email addresses

  3. Choose to invite them as a Guest or Member using the user role button on the left

  4. Set their permissions using the permissions button on the right

  5. Click Invite

Screenshot showing how to invite a new member by entering their email address

The user will receive an email shortly inviting them to join your Workspace!

Share a task publicly

When you share a task publicly, it will be view only. You can choose which information from the task will be visible publicly.

  1. Open a task and click on the Share button OR on the task settings ellipsis and select Sharing & Permissions

  2. Click on the Public via web toggle

  3. Copy the public link to share your task with the world!

  4. Set link expiration, allow search engines to include the link in search results, copy the embed code, and set the share task properties from the advanced settings section

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the toggle to share a task publicly via web and the advanced settings available

Share task properties allows you to control what is included on the public view of the task, including:

Screenshot of the options available to show/hide task information when a task is publicly shared via web

What else can I share?


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?