Take complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who gets added to your Workspace.

Spaces can be shared with members. Folders, Lists, and Tasks can be shared with members, guests or Teams. Teams are available on all paid Plans and Team Sharing is available on Business Plus and Enterprise.

This guide has step by step instructions to set privacy, permissions, and sharing options for Spaces, Folders, Lists, and tasks.


We'll cover:

View who has access to a Space

Spaces can only be shared with members, guests can be invited to Folders, Lists, and tasks.

  1. Click your Workspace avatar at the bottom of the Sidebar and select People to open the Manage people window

  2. Select the Full Members tab to see who has access to this Space

View who has access to a Folder or List

Check who has permission to individual Folders or Lists.

  1. Click on the ellipsis next to the Folder or List in your Sidebar

  2. Select Sharing & Permissions

  3. Click to expand the Share with section

  4. People and Teams with access and specific permissions will be displayed

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to see who has permissions

View who has access to a task

Check who has permission to individual tasks.

  1. Open a task

  2. Click on Share

  3. Or click the ellipsis to open the task settings menu and select Sharing & Permissions

  4. Click to expand the Share with section

  5. People and Teams with access and specific permissions will be displayed

Tip: You can also open the task settings menu by clicking the ellipsis for an individual task right from views. The location of the ellipsis will vary depending on the view.

Item Creator and Workspace owner badges

The Workspace Owner and item creator will have their own badges:

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the task creator and Workspace owner badges which are displayed next to the person's name

Note: We'll warn you before you remove access from an item's creator.

Make a Space private or share it with specific people

  1. Click the ellipsis next to the Space you want to make private

  2. Select Sharing & Permissions from the Space Settings menu

  3. Click Private in the Share modal.

  4. Click Add People if you want to add other Workspace members

  5. Click Save

Note: Guests do not have access to Spaces. Learn more about the guest experience.

Pro tip: Update your Space's privacy and sharing settings on the go with our Mobile app!

Set access and permissions to Folders and Lists

You can make Folders and Lists private, share them with members, guests, and Teams, and set permissions.

  1. Click on the ellipsis next to the Folder or List in your Sidebar

  2. Select Sharing & Permissions

  3. Click Make Private to limit access to yourself, and anyone you specifically share the Folder or List with

  4. Enter a name in the search bar to look for existing members, guests, and Teams

  5. Enter an email address in the search bar to invite someone to your Workspace and share this item at the same time

  6. Set their permissions by clicking Full and selecting from the options available

  7. Selected people and Teams will now have access to the shared Folder or List

Set access and permissions to tasks

You can make tasks private, share them with members, guests, and Teams, and set permissions.

  1. Open a task

  2. Click on Share

  3. Or click the ellipsis to open the task settings menu and select Sharing & Permissions

  4. Click Make Private to limit access to yourself, and anyone you specifically share the task with

  5. Enter a name in the search bar to look for existing members, guests, and Teams

  6. Enter an email address in the search bar to invite someone to your Workspace and share this item at the same time

  7. Set their permissions by clicking Full and selecting from the options available

  8. Selected people and Teams will now have access to the shared task

Pro Tip: Click Edit All from the Share with section to bulk edit permissions.

Screenshot of the sharing modal showing how to share a Folder with a specific member or guest and customize their permissions

Note: After the item is set to private you can change it back to public by clicking Make Public.

Pro Tip: In the Share modal click Copy link to share the Internal link with those who have permission to view the item!

Share tasks with specific people through a web link

When you share a task publicly, it will be view only. You can choose which information from the task will be visible publicly.

  1. Open a task

  2. Click on Share

  3. Or click the ellipsis to open the task settings menu and select Sharing & Permissions

  4. Slide the Public via web toggle on

  5. Click Copy public link

  6. Set link expiration, allow search engines to include the link in search results, copy the embed code, and set the share task properties from the advanced settings section

  7. Share the public link with anyone

Screenshot of the sharing modal highlighting the toggle to share a task publicly via web and the advanced settings available

The Share task properties allows you to control what is included on the public view of the task, including:

Screenshot of the options available to show/hide task information when a task is publicly shared via web

What else can I share?


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?