Created a task by accident? Want to permanently delete an old task or one that is no longer needed? Deleting a task sends it to the Trash.
Deleted tasks remain in Trash for 30 days before being permanently deleted.
Note: Deleting a task in multiple Lists deletes it from all Lists.
There are three ways to delete tasks within ClickUp:
Delete a task from Task view
Open the task and click on the ellipses ... symbol.
Delete a tasks with the Multitask Toolbar
Hover over a task and click on the task selector
Select each task you wish to delete
Select the Trash icon on the right side of the Multitask Toolbar
Delete a task from views
Open a view
Right-click on a task to reveal the Task Action Menu
Click on the Trash icon to delete the task
View deleted tasks
Workspace members have access to items that they have deleted, but admins and owners can see all items in the Trash.
If you don't want to delete tasks, you can hide them by closing or archiving.
Close a task
You can close a task and view it later by clicking on
Show Closed in your List view, or alternatively, filter to view your closed tasks in the view.
Archive a task
You can archive the task from the task settings, which will remove it from the view entirely.
Once archived, you can show that task later by showing all archived tasks from your sidebar settings!