You can invite two types of collaborators to participate in your Workspace.

  • Members are people within your organization who directly participate and contribute to your work

  • Guests are people outside your organization who need to make a limited contribution to specific items in your Workspace

Once someone is invited to your Workspace, you can immediately share, assign, set permissions, mention, and add them to Teams!

Tip: You can also publicly share various items in your Workspace to give anyone visibility to your work.

What you'll need

  • You can invite people to join a Workspace on any ClickUp Plan.

    • Members and guests can only receive full permissions to shared items on the Free Forever Plan

    • You can invite members and guests will a full range of permissions on any paid Plan Workspace

    • On any paid Plan, you'll be charged a prorated amount based on your billing cycle each time you add a new member seat

    • The Business Plus Plan and Enterprise Plan Workspaces also have custom roles and custom permissions available

    • Guests can only be invited by sharing items

  • Workspace Owners and Admins can invite members and guests to a Workspace

  • Members can invite guests to access specific items with the same or lesser permissions

We'll cover

Invite people to your Workspace

Send one or more people an invitation to join your Workspace as a member. Guests can only be invited by sharing items. Only Workspace owners and admins can invite people from the Workspace Settings page.

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select People

  3. Enter one or more email addresses to the Invite by email field

    • To add more than one email address, create a list of email accounts separated by commas or on separate lines

    • Copy and paste the email addresses into the Invite by email field

  4. When inviting a Workspace member, choose the invited user's role from the drop-down menu

  5. Click Invite to send invitations!

Screenshot of the People settings page highlighting the members and guests tab and the invite by email field

Invite people while sharing items

You can invite people to your Workspace while sharing the following items:

Members can invite guests while sharing tasks, Lists, Folders, Docs, Dashboards, and Goals. They can only grant invited guests the same permissions or less.

Invite new people while sharing:

  1. Click Sharing & Permissions from the item's settings menu

  2. Enter the email address of the person you wish to invite to your Workspace

    Screenshot of sharing a task highlighting the invite people field
  3. Choose to invite them as a Member or Guest by clicking the user role button on the left

    Note: We'll let you know if you'll be charged when inviting someone to join your Workspace.

  4. Set their permissions by clicking the permissions button on the right

  5. Click Invite to send the invitation

Resend or cancel invitations

Once you've sent an invitation, you can resend or cancel it before the invited person accepts it and joins your Workspace.

  1. Click your Workspace avatar in the lower-left corner

  2. Select People

  3. Choose the members or guests tab

  4. Click the settings ellipsis ... for the invited user

  5. Choose to resend or cancel the pending invitation

Screenshot of the people settings page highlighting the setting ellipsis and options to resend or cancel an invitation


Want to learn more?

Did this answer your question?